Ott 262020
 
Monday, October 26
12.00 ET (17.00 Rome time). Hunt Allcott (New York University): Digital addiction.
Host: The Behavior Change for Good Virtual Seminar.
Zoom link: register here.
12.00 ET (17.00 Rome time). Neha Upadhayay (Université Paris-Est Créteil): Medicine with side effects – Foreign aid and targeted protection.
Host: Graduate Student International Political Economy (GSIPE) workshop.

12.30 Rome time. Bård Harstad (University of Oslo): Trade and Trees.
Host: Bocconi Department of Economics.
Zoom link: please contact sara.picciallo@unibocconi.it.
13.00 Amsterdam time: ESA’s job-market candidates’ seminar.
Host: ESA.
Program:
Lidia Vidal-Meliá (Universitat Jaume I): Dynamic Incentives to Invest in an Advanced Abatement Technology: An Experimental Investigation of the Effect of Commitment Timing to an Environmental Policy.
Tong Wang (Erasmus University Rotterdam): Follow the money, not the majority: Incentivizing and aggregating expert opinions with Bayesian markets.
13.00 New York time (18.00 Rome time). Ulrich Volz (SOAS Centre for Sustainable Finance): Climate Change and Sovereign Risk.
Zoom link: register here.

15.30 UTC (16.30 Rome time). Mirjam Reutter (European University Institute): The Morning After: Prescription-Free Access to Emergency Contraceptive Pills.
Host: Virtual Seminar on the Economics of Risky Health Behaviors (VERB).
16.00 Paris time. Nicholas Bedard (Wilfrid Laurier University): Ironing, Sweeping, and Multivariate Majorization: Optimal Mechanisms for Mass-Produced Goods.
Host: Virtual Market Design Seminar.
Zoom link: register here.
16.00 Rome time. Aron Culotta (Illinois Institute of Technology): Language, perception, and reality in online communication.
Host: Bocconi DMI Webinar.
Zoom link: email dmi@unibocconi.it.
16.00 CET. Beata Javorcik (University of Oxford): Unravelling Deep Integration: Local Labour Market Effects of the Brexit Vote.
Host: Online Geneva Trade and Development Workshop.
Zoom link: register here.
16.30 Rome time. David Hémous (University of Zurich) on Automating Labor: Evidence from Firm-level Patent Data.
Host: EIEF.
Zoom link: email events@eief.it to receive the link.
17.00 Rome time. Lawrence Berger (University of Wisconsin Madison): Do Foster Care Placement and ‘Aging Out’ of Care Lead to Poor Educational, Social, and Economic Outcomes?
Host: Bocconi Dondena Center.
17.00 London time (18.00 Rome time). Francisco Ferreira (LSE): The active ingredient of inequality.
Host: LSE.
Zoom link: register here.
Host: Junior Economics of Migration Seminar.
Zoom link: register here.
Tuesday, October 27
11.30 ET (16.30 Rome time). Dawit Mekonnen (IFPRI): Irrigation-Nutrition Linkages in Sub-Saharan Africa: Lessons from small scale irrigations in Ethiopia, Ghana, and Tanzania.
Host: Seminar in Water Economics Online (SWELL).
Zoom link: sign up here.
12.00 Rome time. Arno Riedl: The Role of Fairness Ideals in Coordination Failure and Success.
Host: IMS Brown Bag Seminar.

12.00 EDT (17.00 Rome time). Rohini Pande (Yale University): Investing in the Next Generation: The Long-Run Educational Impacts of a Liquidity Shock.

Host: CEPR Virtual Development Webinars.
12.45 Rome time. Matthias Lang (University of Munich): Mechanism Design with Narratives.
Host: Bocconi Department of Economics Theory and Experiments Series.
Zoom link: by invitation: for information or to receive the invitation link contact erika.somma@unibocconi.it.
13.00 Barcelona time. Tim Besley (LSE): The Political Economy of the Great Lockdown: Does Free Media Make a Difference?
Wednesday, October 28
9.00 Wellington time (23.00 Rome time). Moumita Roy (George Mason University): First belong, then lead: An experimental analysis of the role of group identity in leadership effectiveness.
Host: Monash Applied Young Economist Webinar.
9.00 Rome time. Christian Pescher (Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg): Participation, Productivity or Pressure: Which Ideators are Successful in Crowdsourcing?
Host: Bocconi Department of Marketing.
Zoom link: contact dip.mkt@unibocconi.it.
12.00 NYT time (17.00 Rome time).
Brett Green (Olin WUSTL): Due diligence.
John Cochrane (Hoover Stanford): A Fiscal Theory of Monetary Policy with Partially-Repaid Long-Term Debt.
Host: Virtual Finance Theory Seminar at École Polytechnique.
Zoom link: Register by email to mail@virtualfinancetheoryseminar.com to receive the link.
12.00 Sydney time (2.00 Rome time).  Simon Grant (ANU): Delegation and Ambiguity in Correlated Equilibrium.
Zoom link: register here.
12.00 ET (17.00 Rome time). Hani Mansour (University of Colorado, Denver): Voting and Political Participation in the Aftermath of the HIV/AIDS Epidemic.
Host: Economics of LGBTQ+ Individuals Virtual Seminar Series.
Zoom link: Please sign up to receive the link to the Zoom meeting each week.
12.00 Pacific time (20.00 Rome time). Gonzalo Cisternas (MIT): Signaling with Private Monitoring.
Link: Live streamed on twitch.tv/caltechecontheory, where viewer questions are forwarded to the speaker.
12.30 New York time (17.30 Rome time): ESA’s job-market candidates’ seminar.

Host: ESA.
Program:
Jonathan Oxley (Florida State University): Examining Donor Preferences for Charity Religious Affiliation.
Prithvijit Mukherjee (Utah State University): Can we talk our way to efficiency?
Jessica White (University of Arkansas): Choice Overload and Charitable Giving: Can There Be Too Much of a Good Thing?
14.30 Lisbon time (15.30 Rome time). Benjamin Marx (Sciences-Po): Eat Widely, Vote Wisely? Lessons from a Campaign Against Vote Buying in Uganda.
Host: Novafrica Seminars on Economic Development.
Zoom link: register here.
15.00 Paris time. Sébastien Fontenay (Université Libre de Bruxelles): The Unintended Consequences of Maternity Leave Allowance on Fertility and Career Decisions.

Host: Webinar in Gender and Family Economics.

Zoom link: email webinargenderfamilyecon@gmail.com to receive the link.
15.00 London time (16.00 Rome time). Mauricio Salazar-Saenz (UNC-Chapel Hill): A household search model of the labor market with home production.
Host: Applied Young Economist Webinar.
Host: JKU Online Economics Research Seminar.
Zoom link: email econseminar@jku.at to register and receive the link.
16.30 Rome time. Dean Karlan (Northwestern University): “Cooperation in the commons: Evaluating investment in community-based rangeland management in Namibia” and “To punish or not to punish: Using public goods games to measure treatment effects on social norms”.
Host: Bocconi Department of Economics joint with Collegio Carlo Alberto.
Zoom link: by invitation: for information or to receive the invitation link contact patrizia.pellizzari@unibocconi.it.
17.00 Rome time. Francesca Trivellato (Institute for Advanced Studies Princeton): When Property Rights Are Not Enough: Lessons from Renaissance Florence.
Host: Graduate Institute Geneva International Macro History Online Seminar.
Zoom link: register here.
Thursday, October 29
11.00-14.30 Boston time: first day of the ThReD (Theoretical Research in Development Economics) Conference 2020.
Host: Boston University.
Program:
Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi University): A Stepping Stone Approach to Understanding Harmful Norms: Theory and Evidence from Somalia.

Roberta Ziparo (Aix-Marseille School of Economics): Investment Decisions with Endogenous Budget Share Allocations inside the Household.

Rajiv Sethi (Columbia University): Costly Screening and Statistical Discrimination.
Has van Vlokhoven (Stockholm University): Diffusion of Ideas and Network Linkages.
Zoom link: register here.
12.15 Oslo time. Benjamin Enke: Moral universalism and the structure of ideology.
Host: FAIR – Centre for Experimental Research on Fairness, Inequality and Rationality at the Norwegian School of Economics.
Zoom link: register here from Monday to receive the link.
13.00 Rome time. Shota Ichihashi (Bank of Canada): Addictive Platforms.

Host: Mannheim Centre for Competition and Innovation (MaCCI) IO Virtual Seminar.
Zoom link: register here.
13.00 Rome time. Emanuele Colonnelli (University of Chicago): Selfish Corporations.
Host: EIEF.
Zoom link: email events@eief.it to receive the link.
13.00 London time (14.00 Rome time). Eugenio Proto (University of Glasgow): Does Being Angry Limit Your Ability to Think Strategically?
Host: LSE Wellbeing Thursday Seminar.
Zoom link: RSVP t.sagoo@lse.ac.uk and you will receive a Zoom link on the day of the seminar.
13.00 ET (18.00 Rome time). Jennifer Doleac (Texas A&M University): Algorithmic Risk Assessment Tools in the Hands of Humans.
Host: Online Economics of Crime Seminar.
Zoom link: register at https://bit.ly/crimeseminarlist
16.00 UK time (17.00 Rome time). Inga Deimen (Arizona): Authority in a theory of the firm.
Host: Virtual Seminars in Economic Theory.
Zoom link: register here.
16.00 Brussels time. Galina Zudenkova (TU Dortmund University): Information and Communication Technologies, Protests and Censorship.
Host: Online Political Economy Seminar Series (OPESS).
Zoom link: register here.

16.00 Rome time. Vicky Fouka (Stanford University): Racial Diversity, Electoral Preferences, and the Supply of Policy: the Great Migration and Civil Rights.
Host: Bocconi Dondena Center.
18.15 Zurich time. WZB Distinguished Lecture in Social Sciences by Ernst Fehr (University of Zurich): Social Preferences and Redistributive Politics.
Host: University of Zurich.
Zoom link: register here.
Friday, October 30
11.00-14.30 Boston time: second day of the ThReD (Theoretical Research in Development Economics) Conference 2020.
Host: Boston University.
Program:

Alessandra Peter (Princeton University): Network-based Hiring: Local Benefits, Global Costs.

James Choy (Bureau of Economic Analysis): Kompromat: a Theory of Blackmail as a System of Governance.

Dominic Rohner (University of Lausanne): Ethnic Conflicts and the Informational Dividend of Democracy.
Jean-Philippe Platteau (University of Namur): The Quran and the Sword: The Strategic Game Between Autocratic Power, the Military, and the Clerics.

Zoom link: register here.
13.00 ET (18.00 Rome time). Kendal Kennedy (Mississipi State University): Education, Crowding-out, and Black-White Employment Gaps in Youth Labor Markets: Evidence from No Pass, No Drive Policies.
Zoom link: fill out the Google form to register: bit.ly/DiscrimSeminar
14.30 UK time (15.30 Rome time). Mobolaji Alabi (University of Reading): The financial impact of Financial Fair Play regulation: Evidence from the English Premier League.
Host: Reading Online Sport Economics Seminars (ROSES).
Zoom link: Contact James Reade at j.j.reade@reading.ac.uk to join via MS Team.
14.30 Montreal time (19.30 Rome time). Jesús Fernández-Villaverde (University of Pennsylvania): Cryptocurrencies, Fintech, and All That: Monetary Economics in the 21st Century.
Host: Marleau Lecture Series on Economic and Monetary Policy (Department of Economics, University of Ottawa).
Zoom link: register here.
15.00 Penn time (20.00 Rome time). Hugh Macartney (Duke University): Incentive Design in Education: A Distributional Analysis.
Host: Penn State Department of Economics.
Zoom link: register here.
16.00 Dublin time. Emi Nakamura (University of California Berkeley): The slope of the Phillips curve. Evidence from the U.S.
Host: Trinity College International Macro Seminar Series.
Zoom link: register emailing emtcd@tcd.ie


16.00 Rome time: IGIER Policy Seminar on “School Reform: Lessons from US and UK Experiences”.

Host: IGIER Bocconi.

Speakers:
Joshua Angrist (MIT)
Stephen Machin (LSE)

16.00 London time (17.00 Rome time). Raffaella Giacomini (UCL): Identification and Inference under Narrative Restrictions.
Host: The Gary Chamberlain Online Seminar in Econometrics.
Zoom link: register here.
Saturday, October 31
11.00-14.30 Boston time: third day of the ThReD (Theoretical Research in Development Economics) Conference 2020.
Host: Boston University.
Program:

Karna Basu (Hunter College): Commitment as Extortion?

Hosny Zoabi (The New Economic School): The Microfinance Disappointment: An Explanation based on Risk Aversion.
Gani Aldashev (UBS): Marriage Timing and Forward Contracts in Marriage Markets.

Ragnar Torvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology): The Inefficient Combination: Competitive Markets, Free Entry, and Democracy.

Zoom link: register here.
credits unica.it | accessibilità Università degli Studi di Cagliari
C.F.: 80019600925 - P.I.: 00443370929
note legali | privacy

Nascondi la toolbar